South Africa and India will wrap up their ODI series on Thursday, 21 December 2023, with a match at Boland Park in Paarl.

The Proteas fought back to level the series at St George’s Park, led by a strong bowling performance, but have been struck by further injury problems in their fast bowling department.

India have lost the impetus in the series now after failing to close things out following a dominant win in the opening match.

South Africa have won six of their seven ODIs at Boland Park, including their last five in a row. India have two wins at the venue, but they came in matches against the Netherlands and Kenya and came long before any of the current crop of players were involved with the national team.

South Africa vs India third ODI: Suggested bets

Tony De Zorzi paid off that promise of more to come from his Wanderers cameo with his first ton in ODI cricket and a match-sealing knock at St George’s Park. Rassie van der Dussen has an ODI hundred at this venue from the most recent series to alight Boland Park, while Heinrich Klaasen and David Miller have both hit memorable tons at the venue in white-ball cricket.

The Boland Park wicket traditionally plays a little slow at first, but the team batting first would be eager to set themselves up well for a big onslaught to end the innings. The period from 41-50 overs is likely to see more runs put on the board than at any other time.

KL Rahul almost pulled off a rescue attempt on the India innings last time out and appears to be in decent form. However, at Boland Park, you will often see the finishers rack up huge runs, making Rinku Singh an excellent choice to be India’s top runscorer in Paarl.

Arshdeep Singh has been the major threat to the South African batting throughout the series, but in Paarl, he will really need to make the most of that new ball to give his side any chance of containing the Proteas batting.


  • Heinrich Klaasen to top score for South Africa.
  • South Africa to outscore India in the first 15 overs.
  • Arshdeep Singh to finish as India's top wicket-taker in the series.
  • Rinku Singh to hit the most sixes for India.