Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis, who led her side to the African Cup of Nations title and to the knock-out stages of the World Cup was named as Women’s Coach of the Year at the CAF Awards in Marrakesh, Morocco on Monday night.

Ellis was one of several South African females to receive accolades on the night with five Banyana stars, Andile Dlamini, Bambani Mbane, Lebohang Ramalepe, Linda Motlhalo and Refiloe Jane all named in the CAF/FifPro Women’s XI.

Speaking at the receipt of her award, Ellis paid tribute to fellow nominee and Mamelodi Sundowns women’s coach Jerry Tshabalala. “I’d like to acknowledge coach Jerry — he does fantastic work in South Africa and that’s why I’m standing here,” she said.

“I’d also like to acknowledge all the other coaches who work in women’s football. This is for all of you, all the administrators who work in women’s football, but most importantly it’s for all the Banyana players because they make us coaches look good.

“To all the staff of Banyana who worked tirelessly and to all the teams who did so well at the World Cup … women’s football on the continent is rising.”

Other notable award winners on the night included:
Men’s goalkeeper of the year: Yassine Bounou of Morocco
Women’s goalkeeper of the year: Chiamaka Nnadozie of Nigeria
Men’s coach of the year: Walid Regragui of Morocco
2023 Women’s player of the year: Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria
2023 Men’s player of the year: Victor Osimhen of Nigeria